spooky bikes

Popeye was right

Posted in Uncategorized by Mickey/SpookyBikes on April 18, 2008

We love XC race bikes, XC racing, and especially XC racers.

Darksides are winning races, in Connecticut, and once again stasis is returned to this topsy-turvy world… I’m sure as hell not winning any races.

I’m showing up, fresh from late nights, no feed and daily 1 hour hammerfests trying to anihilate bike parts and frames.

That darkside above is running 650b tires. I think they just might be the right wheel size for me, and most of the race courses we have here in the northeast. If you run your fork at the full length, you get a slightly higher bb than with the 2.3″ Michelins we have come to love. Drop the travel15mm and you end up with 73.5/71.5/ 12.25″….

All of sudden it feels like my OLD Darkside….

Only far, far more stable, and with a peculiar root and chatter erasing quality. Sounds good to me.

The Flag? Learn your history America.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. eddiespaghetti said, on April 21, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    And Middleburns!? GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

  2. fomenter said, on April 21, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    650b eh? I’ve been on one (waltworks) for little over a week and loving it. Love that flag sticker too. I grew up in Pelham on the corner of Harkness Rd and Rt. 9 (there is now a vetinary hospital in the barn I think). Good to see rad bikes coming out of my old neck of the woods. I’m now living across the country in Bellingham, WA but I’m still reppin New England. Speaking of reppin, how can I get my hands on one of them stickers for my walt?

  3. admin said, on April 21, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Send us some money via paypal (Loot@) perhaps pickup a t-shirt while yer at it? I need to buy a bed one of these days…

  4. fomenter said, on April 21, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I’ll probably get me one of them there undercap t’s…throw in the sticker or Quanta costa?

  5. admin said, on April 21, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Dude, is that like, Spanish or something? I live on Gulf Rd. We don’t get that channel. I’ll throw a million stickers at ya…. When did you flee west? Friend of Spooky Kenny grew up in the ‘Ham as well. I miss Pelham. The floor here at the shop is surprisingly small though!

    I was thinking of you when I wrote this….
    “Rebellion against a king may be pardoned, or lightly punished, but the man who dares
    to rebel against the laws of a republic ought to suffer death.” Samuel Adams, 1786
    How fitting is it that the revivified Spooky Bikes hails from Western Massachusetts, the
    same area that fostered pre-constitutional revolutionary Daniel Shays?
    Shay’s Rebellion was fermented by the agrarian farmers revolt against centralized
    government, which was run by the traders, and which slighted significantly these
    producers who had put their lives on the line for the commonwealth, and for the
    freedom of a yet as un-united nation.
    Decades after they had toiled in the trenches against the British these veterans of a very
    noble struggle were left slighted and besmirched by their debt. They had spent years
    in bloody battle for not a single months pay, issued only government bonds that had not
    yet matured. The oppressive chain of debt was turning these free farmers into tenants
    on their own land, the mounting burdens of interstate and international commerce
    were driving these hardworking men who valued community and local control to
    desperate measures.
    These veterans donned their revolutionary uniforms and marched in regiments to
    close the debtors courts. The merchants formed and funded a state-sponsored militia
    and dispatched it to Western Mass to re-open those courts that had become a hated
    instrument of oppression and control.
    Shays and his men marched on the Arsenal in Springfield, where they were massacred
    by the commander of the post, but this did not halt the struggle, and the movement
    toward local control.
    These men walked our roads, were hanged in our courthouse and fought for our
    beliefs.
    How does re-launching Spooky fit in to all this bluster?
    Spooky is a revolutionary bike company. A company that brings values and
    influences from outside the bike industry to the table, and then sets to making the
    highest quality bikes in the most transparent and sustainable manner.
    The bike industry, like the world of pre-constitutional America is dominated by huge
    mercantile interests to the detriment of the man who desires to produce on his own, to
    nurture his soul and enrich his community. We fought in the trenches 12 years ago askids on the Spooky factory floor. Toiling for later promised dividends.
    Our bond’s matured. Look out.

  6. fomenter said, on April 21, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I fled when I went to grad school in St. Louis, which I fled immediatley following and ended up in the ‘ham after a few years in Seattle. I was back in W. Mass about 4 years ago for a funeral. It was nice – not the funeral but W. Mass…well I guess the funeral was nice too. T-shirt and a million stickers has been ordered. Eat some Moo Shu pork at Am Chi for me.

  7. fomenter said, on April 21, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Where are my manners?…Happy Patriots’ Day!


Leave a Reply

